One of Walter’s Absurdities

I must write of one of Walter’s absurdities.

I had taken a long ride in the wind and my face was burned scarlet; so at night I put cream on my face and sprinkled it liberally with flour, then I lay down and peacefully slept. In the night Walter awoke and came down to see all was right. He knew nothing of my being powdered and entering the room saw me stretched on the bed with a ghastly deathlike countenance. For an instant his heart stood still. Then he thought what was the matter and I spoke. When he was telling me of the shock he had received I said “What did you think Walter when you thought I was dead?” He replied “Who shall I marry now?”

Transcriber’s note

When we visited my grandparents as children, the boys always slept on the top floor. They called it “The Bullpen”. I think that must have been a Turner tradition.

Leave a Reply

