Edith

Edith is the most ambitionless of children though it gives me no special anxiety as she excels in everything she undertakes. She does not want to learn anything. She has no desire to excel at her studies, sewing, or any possible accomplishment. She never wants to go to school. The other day she informed me she thought she would be a dentist. She has pulled out teeth for the children and Fred Wilding. I told her that even in that profession she must know how to read and write and have some knowledge of arithmetic. Later she came to me and said, “Mama, I have decided to be a barber, I shall have to learn nothing then.”

Leave a Reply

